CWA Dagger in the Library Award 2014

CWA Dagger in the Library award 2014

Attention, crime fiction readers!

For the first time ever readers will decide the longlist for the CWA Dagger in the Library Award as its sponsor Dead Good and the CWA relaunch the Award for 2014. From Friday 1st August crime fans everywhere can nominate their favourite authors online and the ten authors with the most votes will make up the long list. For the first time the vote will be digital only, making the CWA Dagger in the Library Award the only crime award to have an online reader nomination process.

Lynsey Dalladay, Community Manager for Dead Good, said: “We’re thrilled to be sponsoring this important award and giving it the attention it deserves. By asking the public to nominate their favourite talent, we’re putting power back into the hands of readers and allowing them to recognise and celebrate authors that consistently deliver top class crime fiction. Ours is the first crime award to do this, so we’re incredibly excited to see what crime readers choose.

Director of the CWA, Lucy Santos said: “The CWA is delighted to be working with Dead Good and to relaunch the 2014 Dagger in the Library. Not only is at an opportunity to celebrate the best in crime writing but it is unique amongst our Daggers in that the public choose who makes it onto the longlist. What better excuse to find a quiet spot, grab your favourite tipple and investigate all the great crime fiction out there.

Unlike most other literary prizes, the Dagger in the Library is awarded not for an individual book but for an author’s body of work. The nominated authors must be alive, preferably working in Britain and cannot have won the award before. As the award is for a body of work, authors should have published at least three books. One of six highly prized CWA Dagger Awards, which have been awarded to crime writers since 1955, judges that will decide this year’s shortlist and winner include author Steve Mosby, Lucy Santos and a panel of UK librarians.

Nominations close on September 1st 2014 and 2014 winner will be announced in November. To vote for your favourite crime authors – remember, they must be alive, living in Britain and have at least three books – head over to the Dead Good website and fill in the nomination form. Easy!

Are you going to nominate anyone? If you had to recommend a crime novel written by a British author to someone who’s new to this genre, which one would you pick?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge